chewing gum and memory

Hello all, well how was your week? It’s almost a week since my last post. Yeah this is my mid semester test weeks; I have to abandon my blog and my other guilty pleasures. (But, Own a blog isn’t a kind of guilty pleasure, is it?)

Now I’m googling to seek many theories about my experimental (kind) assignment. It’s boring and interesting at the same time. My experiment is standing under the construct of memory. Why I use memory for my construct? Because memory is capable to be measured, and it has its own standardization, so we don’t need to make any standard score., they have made it already. My team (has 5 personnel include me) and I decided to have a research problem: Do chewing gum have any influences to the short term memory?. For me it’s not really exciting, but yet I’m excited, hahaha! The fundamental reason is that we have already found the phenomenon at my faculty, describes about the condition, which is demanding the students to have a good memory, in order to store and/or recall all the lessons, especially at the 1st year studying. So many theories we need to know them on exact.

gumkitty enjoys the gum, hahah!

Nah, I have just read about the theory of memory, telling that chewing gum may improve our memory. If your cognitive skills are not at their best, you may just need a stick of gum to boost your brain power. Research at the University of Northumbria and the Cognitive Research Unit in Reading, England, shows that the repetitive chewing motion positively influences thinking, memory, and other mental tasks. *sigh* Andrew Scholey of the University’s Human Cognitive Neuroscience Unit presented his team’s findings at the 2001 British Psychological Society’s annual conference in Blackpool. He explained that “the mild increase in heart rate may improve the delivery of oxygen and glucose to the brain, enough to improve cognitive function.”. Additionally, chewing gum induces a surge of insulin due to the mouth watering in anticipation of a meal. “It is known that there are insulin receptors in areas of the brain important for learning and memory,” Scholey said.

Then what are we going to do with this jerky research? We ascertain the accuracy and reliability of this theory when it demonstrates practically (don’t forget that theory and practice are not that determined and alike, they may change, they may be different). The experiment will have 30-40 samples from my faculty, and they will be sorted into 2 groups. Each group will have the different treatment. Group A will chew a gum, and group B will not. Both of those groups will have a task to remember a phrase, or few rhymes of poetry (we’ll choose which task is better, as soon as we need, ahaah!). After remembering (and storing into their memory), they have to fill in the blank, about the poetry or the phrase that they’ve already remembered. Hope with this experiment, we really find it out then.

This is my 1st time doing an experiment. I’m both curious and anxious. =((((

PS : if you want to learn more about chewing gum and memory, you can click this site, or this.

5 Comments

Filed under daily basis, me in campus, psycho-stuffs

5 responses to “chewing gum and memory

  1. ha beneran yaa nih sar? hemm jd penasaran

  2. oh ya ??? wow.. ntar aku beli permen karet banyak2 aaaah… hehehe

    • sarahsita

      hihi.. beli gih, trus makan pas lg ngafalin materi ujian, ntar hasilnya kasitau aku yaa.. hehehe.. 😀

  3. gao

    So what was the result?

Leave a Reply

